dammit_au

Help! We need floor plan advice for our family home

dammit_au
5 years ago
last modified: 5 years ago

Need to change the layout of our house, which will hopefully last us for 10 years till the kids are teenagers. 4 kids, 2 sharing each bedroom.

Current vs Proposed - after any advice re things we may need to take into account or other options missed.

Current highlights:

add Bed 4 Multipurpose room - may be a study, spare bedroom, media room, kids play room - don't know yet.

Is living room big enough at 5m x 4m?

Relocating kitchen from rear of property to centre of house - to improve flow. Supervise children at the backyard.

Can't decide whether to knock down fireplaces to re-gain extra floorspace. House is 115m2 internal on 220m2 block.

CLICK LINK to see high res image where you can read better: https://i.imgur.com/1kk4n4q.jpg

Comments (33)

• Sara Graham
    5 years ago
    I’m no expert but a few things to consider:
    You need a minimum of 900mm between the kitchen benches, preferably 1200.
    But the island could be reduced to 900mm in depth rather than 1200mm
    As your kids grow older you may prefer not to have any adjoining walls between the master bedroom and your kids rooms, unless you have double brick walls or some other way of creating acoustic privacy.
    Can the door to the back on the right be replaced by a sliding door? The swing into the room takes up a lot of space.
    Most fridges are at least 750mm deep, though some are only 600mm deep (but usually very expensive and have a small capacity for a family). They also need a space for ventilation at the back. This will protrude significantly into your wet area space (bathroom/laundry etc)
    Do the fireplaces have any heritage value? Will removing them impact the the feeling and integrity of the house? Space is tight so I can see why removing them is attractive.

Others will have some helpful ideas. All the best with your reno.
    dammit_au thanked Sara Graham
  • oklouise