fungry_04

Shed placement help

fungry_04
February 10, 2019

Me and hubby cant agree where and what size shed to put on the block of our new home. He wants a 7x10 meter, where i think we should go a bit smaller (we have 3 young kids with a few large outdoor play equipment things). He also wants to put the shed towards the front of the house closer to the road, where i prefer towards the back. Any ideas or advice? The green area is yard, sorry if this doesn't make sense im new to houzz :D

Comments (7)

• oklouise

subject to council regulations i would prefer towards the front of the block so that you don't waste too much space on a long driveway and can fence off the backyard to create a safe play area away from vehicles but the challenge will be to make the shed look attractive from the street

• PRO
    Dr Retro House Calls

Most council areas require a building permit for a large 70sq,m shed. Something so large will take up a lot of your outdoor space. Consider the height of the shed, and the setbacks required from your boundaries. Consider how much shade the shed will cast, and how you plan to use the ground on the southern side of the shed. Finally consider your own outlook. Which windows will look at the side of the shed? Do you want the view from your living areas to be of the shed? What about the neighbours views? Are there any restrictions placed by the developer of the subdivsion on the size, materials, colours and location of sheds?

You haven't provided enough information about the orientation, but you do need to chat with council about their requirements for setbacks. Once you have this information you should peg out the corners of your proposed shed on the ground to see how it relates to your house and outlook to help you reach agreement.

By the way I agree, with you the shed should be a lot smaller. Your husband's proposed shed is about the size of two, double garages!

Best of luck,

Dr Retro

of Dr Retro House Calls

• bigreader