houston334

Plans to try and meet some 'not-so-easy' criteria

houston334
4 years ago

Hello everyone,

I've recently started piecing together some plans for a house concept I've been thinking about. This idea has some not-so-easy-to-achieve lighting criteria (for southern hemisphere).

• All bedrooms, bathroom and ensuite, both living spaces, kitchen, dining, laundry and alfresco all get morning sunlight
  • At minimum, both living spaces, kitchen, master and ensuite, and alfresco all experience (north) winter sunlight
  • Minimised west exposure

This is what I've come up with so far:

What's abundantly clear from these patched-together-plans is that I'm no professional plan-drawer! I'm also a bit stuck with some things, like where to put the dining area. Therefore I wanted to ask if anyone knows of plans similar to this, would you please share to help with inspiration? Also, any ideas or feedback is welcome :-)

With many thanks

Comments (17)

• dreamer
    4 years ago

Does this mean, by your description, that the corner of rumpus is the east facing part of home. Can you please place north south east west on your plans, just to clarify. What is the size/shape of your block of land. Are there any views? If the measurements are correct, there is enough room in your family room (great room), for dining as well. It appears that you have three study areas. Is this correct? Always better to have the laundry on the outside wall for ventilation. North is best for alfresco, usually with no roofing or able to retract roofing to let the lower northern sun in, in winter.

houston334 thanked dreamer
  • siriuskey
    4 years ago

going by description the following should be correct

houston334 thanked siriuskey
  • Related Discussions

wooden walls ?what flooring

Q

Comments (10)