webuser_585203582

Wood rot and mould from ensuite leak

HU-585203582
2 years ago

Hi all,
We are looking at buying a property that has had previous water damage due to a shower leak. The water seeped through to the adjoining bedroom cupboard drywall and garage walls. There is some wood rot on skirting boards and mould. We are told it was left some time before the leak was fixed so I imagine there is a mould problem inside the walls as well.
The building and pest report suggested the timber inside the walls may need to be replaced along with a full bathroom renovation if the leak returns.
What are our options here? Can a mould treatment service clean mould inside walls? Can you live in a house while the ensuite is renovated?
I'm a complete rookie trying to buy my first home so I have no idea about these things.
Thanks

Comments (9)

• HU-585203582
    Original Author
    2 years ago

Example of wood rot in bedroom cupboard

• dreamer
    2 years ago

Yes you can live in a house why the bathroom is being repaired. But with the photo posted you have a mould issue, and for your healthy and safety, I would not be moving into the home until the mould is got rid of completely. The inspectors have told you the wall may need replacing, which involves taking the plaster or gyprock away from wall and going back to the studs of home. Only then can the experts see what needs rebuilding. And the wood rot may be in all the floors as well. Unless you are experienced at organising tradesmen or have plenty of money to completely renovate this home, maybe it might be a home to pass by. But this also depends on cost of home and location. Do these things out way the money that will need to be spent to get the home habitable.

HU-585203582 thanked dreamer
  • dreamer
    2 years ago

• Kate
    2 years ago