hzdeleted_62832731

Floor Plan Ideas

User
3 years ago

Hi everyone, newbie here! Recently purchased a California Bungalow and looking at long term ideas on the floor plan and better utilise the space. The main highlight of this house is the expansive backyard. One of the drawbacks I find is that the kitchen is slightly awkward and that the kitchen/dining/ space to the left of the study seems kinda large. Ideally would like this to be a proper 3 bedroom + study is possible. Any thoughts on how you would remodel this floor plan?

Comments (7)

• User
    Original Author
    3 years ago

Thanks for the response! Based on what we see it does look like the laundry and bedroom/study at the back was added to the original structure at a later stage. It’s probably one of the areas which is actually more worse for wear. For the original part of the house ceiling heights are relatively stable at just over 3m. Our plan is split into two phases. Phase 1: making the house liveable. Putting insulation, fixing roof leaks, down pipes into stormwater (instead of pooling on the sides). Phase 2: long term value add. Not entirely sure what we will doin Phase 2. The street we have purchased on have seen renovated houses go for 600k+ than what we’ve paid for an old house which requires work. Just wanting to get an idea on what some of the large ticket items which would be worth considering as part of Phase 2 and if that has any impact on the smaller bits and pieces we want to do as part of Phase 1. If that makes sense?

• User
    3 years ago
    last modified: 3 years ago

I'd say get a professional to look ( builder or engineer ) . If the back rooms are the worst , it may ( or may not ) be worth doing major work there and enlarge . There is so much you can do , but to get to the standard ( and space ) I suspect you want won't fit easily into the existing 4 walls . But then , that may be the impetus to do even more . . . . . .