kaps34

Architect or Builder & Drafter for extension/reno?

Kerri
2 years ago

I’ve never used an Architect before and wondering about experiences, expenses, what to expect and who to go to in the Newcastle NSW area.
Our home is quite architectural being different angles (which is nice) so it’s always been hard to find ideas that will work with this.
I am wanting more natural light in and want to make use of views at the back of the house, and we are upgrading to a covered deck.
The builder and drafty are good and have drawn deck plans up. I’m just nervous as it’s a big job and quite expensive. Worried I could be spending that money smarter as it’s not the only thing that needs attention.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thank you :)

Comments (12)

• Kerri
    Original Author
    2 years ago

Ok thank you, that sounds like a good start.

• siriuskey
    2 years ago

There's an Architect "Bourne Blue" that works in your area and other coastal NSW, Blueys Beach etc, check them out .

• Kerri
    Original Author
    2 years ago

Thank you

• Kerri
    Original Author
    2 years ago

Thank you C P, I started off with episode 205 of Undercover Architect and it was exactly where I was at, how I was feeling and what I meant. I’d like to add an architect into the mix as well for a holistic look at how this extension will work in and what outcome it actually give us.

• PRO
    NJR Studios
    2 years ago

Hi Kerri,

I'd suggest going with a building designer/draftsman that has a close working relationship with a builder or builder that has an in-house designer. Renovations can be tricky and expensive, coupled with the current economic climate in NSW, and the fact that construction prices have increased drastically, having this combo allows for making sure that project budgets can be maintained.

Are you looking to open up and extend or just open up and lighten up? Two storey or Single Storey? Views towards the water or inland?