webuser_124535199

Help me choose aTV unit which will set the tone for the rest of the LV

Arese Fr
5 months ago
last modified: 5 months ago

Hello to the community!

So here's the story, this is my first time actually thinking about interior decoration/design as I'm moving in a couple of days in my first unfurnished unit.

That means we have to buy everything from the TV unit to the sofa, dining table etc.

The thing is that I have 0 experience designing home interiors, I don't know the fundamentals are when it comes to colors etc.

The first thing we want to buy is a TV unit (because we already bought a TV) but we're struggling to pick a model as we don't know if the color or design will match with how we are picturing our living room.

We're after a modern, contemporary look for our living room. I though I would show you a couple of ramdom pictures of living rooms I like so you can have a better idea of our taste.

Here's a picture of living room with staged furniture

Can someone shed some lights on what color I should aiming for based on the white walls and greyish carpet to achieve a sleek and modern look?

Also question. I really love the setup of this TV unit for my entertainment system, and by itself I think it's a good looking TV unit but would that go with a modern look? What is the expert consensus about wood based furniture in a modern living room?

Any insights would be greatly appreciated :)

Comments (5)

• Kate
    5 months ago

Modern = sleek, typically flat surfaces. Function will be very important as storage in an apartment is usually limited. So think about what you want to store. Xbox, cds, speakers, headphones, ....
    This will dictate size and reduce options. a white unit will probably fit in with most furniture and won’t crowd the room as dark wood can.

Arese Fr thanked Kate
  • Arese Fr
    Original Author
    5 months ago